Reflections on last flight & airports

I was smart and didn’t whip out my iPhone when I was at the Brazil airports. Here are some of the things I wish that I could have posted:

The São Paulo airport is like a maze. Exiting the plane I had to walk for quite a ways to Customs where I handed over the declaration card and my passport. From there I got to bypass the baggage claim due to having a carry on and then I saw a long line to the exit, and the large Duty Free store. Sadly, I thought I was press for time to catch the next flight, so I bypassed Duty Free and went strait to the exit line which moved quite swiftly, and I found myself in the general area of the airport.

To get to the terminal, I had to pass through security again, and I was pleasantly surprised at how relaxed the rules are. I started to take out the laptop, and the screener made me put it back in my bag. There were no strange questions about batteries and it was really fast. These 2 expected slow lines going fast left me with 45 minutes until my flight. I should have stopped at Duty Free. Oh Well.

Once I finally boarded I got a window seat so that I could see Brasil as I flew to Curitiba. It didn’t help because there was cloud cover the whole way. I did get some good pictures though.

Once I landed in Curitiba, Bianca’s father and sister picked me up and drove me over to the school Bianca is teaching at and then to her parents house while we waited for her to finish her day.


2 Comments

  1. Dan said,

    August 25, 2008 at 12:29 am

    And?

    You have more to report. 😉

    Wish I had done something like this with my travels

  2. Tom Nawalinski said,

    August 25, 2008 at 4:06 am

    Nate,
    So good to hear from you. sounds like you are doing quite well on the trip and flowing though the mazes , checkpoints, etc. Please do keep the blogs coming regularly.
    With love, tom and Emily


Leave a Reply

