SPAM FAIL: Redwood Credit Union

For those who don’t know, I have a honeypot system for SPAM. Every entity I do business with that requires an email address gets something unique that tracks back to them. The latest failure? THE WORST KIND! Redwood Credit Union has triggered my spamtrap. Thats right ladies and gentlemen, they either had a breach in their data security, or they sold there mailing list. Either way, I am not happy. I already hate banks, and have been loyal to RCU for ages. ARG!!!!!

Edit: I got a reply from a high level representative from RCU, and will be taking further discussion private. Will update with a resolution.

Edit 2: I now feel that my concerns have been heard. I’m going to continue doing my banking with RCU, and have changed the email associated with my online banking. I wish this hadn’t happened, but the horses are out of the barn now… :\

3 Comments

  1. June 2, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    As the Sr. Vice President of IT for Redwood Credit Union (RCU), I’d like to respond to your concerns.

    We value your long-standing relationship with us and wish to let you know that, consistent with the information contained in our Privacy Disclosure,
    http://www.redwoodcu.org/site/privacy.html, we do not sell any of our Members’ information. The situation that caused our email to go into your spam filter was not caused by a breach in our security; our systems remain safe and secure.
    However, we do maintain an internal database of Members’ email addresses for our use only, as many of Members have indicated that they would like to receive special offers and other information from us via email. What you experienced was likely the result of an informational email sent by RCU and was in no way intended for any malicious purpose.

    Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me directly. Thank you.

  2. gotnate said,

    June 2, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Mark, Thank you for the quick reply. Will you be available for direct contact today at around 6:30 PM?

  3. Mark Michaels said,

    June 3, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I am sorry I was out of the office on June 3rd. Are you available June 4th in the morning?


Leave a Reply

